Since my last post about infinity scarves here, I made another scarf using a bulky yarn from Bernat.  I used the same pattern and like it much more as a soft and thick scarf.

My other project was the Divine Hat from the free pattern here.  If you are new to crocheting, or just new to making adult hats (as I was), I will include some links that I found useful.  The first is how to make an adjustable ring, which you will need to start this hat.  Next, this hat uses the stitch fpdc (front post double crochet), which has instructions here.  At the end of the pattern, there is also the stitch bpdc (back post double crochet), which is explained here.  Finally, the pattern suggests H and J hooks (5 mm and 6 mm, respectively).  I only had 5 mm and 6.5 mm hooks, so on the body of the hat, I used the 6.5 mm (K).  This didn’t seem to make any difference in the finished product, but I was trying to crochet a bit tighter than normal.  In the end, the hat is really comfortable and warm.  I added one round of a lighter pink yarn for a bit of detail, but the spiral stitches turned out great.  I really recommend this pattern, especially for beginners.

 

xo Saree

Comments on: "Crochet hat and infinity scarf" (5)

  1. I like your infinity scarf! So far I haven´t made any yet, but your scarf looks very tempting to try. And it is a nice combination with the crochet hat! Nice work! 🙂

  2. Thanks! Both patterns were very easy and only took me a couple of hours to complete.

  3. Love the scarf. It looks like a nice project to make.

  4. furtherdowntheroad said:

    glad you’re blogging again!
    Have a great holiday!!!

    Cait

  5. Thanks! You too!

Leave a Reply

