I realize it’s been awhile.  I’ve handed in my thesis for review, so I have a bit more time now.  After I took a couple days to recover from the stress of writing, I got back to work on the L quilt.  Pattern for the zig zag quilt is here.  Friday evening I finished sewing the strips together and then completed the quilt top.

On Saturday, I basted the quilt using a medium loft batting and some minky fabric as the backing.  I will fully admit that although I love the feel and look of minky fabric, I despise working with it.  I had a terrible time trying to secure it while basting and it is so slinky, it’s really hard to position.  Also, when you cut it, there is a mess of fluff all over.  I’m torn about whether to use it again.  I quilted simple horizontal lines beneath each strip and then wrapped the minky around for the binding.  I’m quite happy with how it turned out.  More pictures can be found here.

I then went to work this morning completing a crocheted baby hat to match.  The pattern can be found here. Login is required to view the pattern.  I tried to match the yarn with the quilt and added a cute little square of grey to the top.

xo Saree

 

Comments on: "L Quilt and Crochet Baby Hat Complete!" (2)

  1. Just beautiful SH!

  2. Thanks! It’s the most complex pattern I’ve done so far.

Leave a Reply

