I’ve had this book, ‘Handmade Beginnings’ by Anna Maria Horner, on my wish list forever.  I love all the projects on Anna Maria’s site, so I went for it and bought the book this past weekend.  I know exactly what I want to make too.  Remember those new fabrics I was showing off from Innocent Crush, Habitat, and Heath? I want to make something along the lines of this quilt:

It won’t be for awhile since I’m still working on the zig zag quilt for L and time seems to be slipping away lately, but I am looking forward to working on it.

I also wanted to mention the other book I bought.  It’s called ‘A Red Herring Without Mustard’ by Alan Bradley.  This is the third book in a series about a young girl, named Flavia de Luce, who loves chemistry and uses her knowledge to solve murders.  The first two books are ‘The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie’ and ‘The Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag’.  These are pretty easy reads, but they aren’t predictable.  Flavia is a likable character and even A likes these books too, so it isn’t just for a female audience.

Those are the latest additions to my library.  If you haven’t heard about ‘Handmade Beginnings’, I suggest giving it a look.  I also recommend Alan Bradley’s Flavia series, and for more books I’ve read/I’m reading/I want to read, have a look at my Goodreads profile on the sidebar.

xo Saree

Leave a Reply

