Zig-Zag Afghan

While studying in the Netherlands this summer, I found myself yearning to do some crocheting, but I didn’t have any supplies.  After much searching and some translation, I was able to find a hook and some yarn, which I put to use with this pattern from Crochet today! This website has a ton of tips and patterns, many of which are free, and I quickly went to work.  I was basically using whatever yarn I could find, so the colours were a mess, but it was something to do and I enjoyed keeping my hands busy.  Plus, when the temperature dipped in the evenings, this afghan kept me warm.

When I returned home, I decided to make a proper afghan for our living room, which has yellow walls with white and charcoal gray furniture.  I kept a similar scheme to the one in the pattern, and used a pale yellow, white, cream, gray, and black.  It took me a couple of months to finish, but I’m really glad I stuck with it.  It’s the perfect length and the width is enough for two people.  It has quite a bit of weight to it as well.  I would really recommend this pattern.  It was easy to follow, makes a beautiful afghan, and it’s free!

xo Saree

Leave a Reply

