S Quilt – Just Finished

Another cousin of mine (S, sister of E) is having a baby in the spring and she wants the sex of the baby to be a surprise as well.  I’m starting to notice a trend.  Anyway, S is having a baby and I am very excited for her.  I knew right away that I would make a quilt and as I was thinking about what to do, I happened upon this post from Film in the Fridge (see the links sidebar).  I thought the It’s a Hoot (I love MoMo) fabrics were perfect for a baby quilt, so I ordered a couple of charm packs, as well as a charm pack of Robert Kaufman solids from Fat Quarter Shop.  I then ordered some new minky fabric from Hawthorne Threads.  I laid everything out on the floor, got rid of the pink It’s a Hoot charms to make it more unisex, added some solids, and I was ready to sew.  This quilt took me two evenings (probably about 5 hours, including breaks).

The first night, I finished off the quilt top, with the addition of a Circa 50 border:

The second night, I added the minky backing.  I sewed the quilt up inside out, turned it right side out and sewed a border, then sewed around 4 of the squares to keep everything in place.  It took very little time and I think it turned out pretty well.  Very colourful and cheery! Sorry for the picture quality.  I’m having a low light situation.

xo Saree

Leave a Reply

