No-Bake Lasagna

Courtesy TLC

This lasagna recipe has changed my life! Seriously.  I love lasagna, but A isn’t really a fan.  I also love recipes that don’t take a lot of time.  This is the perfect recipe and A actually likes it.

I found the recipe from TLC via Apartment Therapy and it can be found here. I’ll list it below in the original format and tell you some things you can do to modify it as well.

Summertime Lasagna Recipe

serve 4

1 cup ricotta
1/4 cup grated Parmesan
3 tablespoons olive oil
Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
8 lasagne noodles, broken into thirds, cooked according to package instructions and drained
1 minced garlic clove
2 pints cherry tomatoes, halved
2 small zucchini, thinly sliced
1/2 cup torn basil leaves

1. Combine ricotta, Parmesan and olive oil, and salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.

2. Heat oil in skillet over medium high and add garlic and tomatoes. Cook until slightly broken down, about 3 minutes. Transfer to bowl.

3. Add zucchini to skillet (with a little more oil if needed). Season with salt and pepper and cook about 5 minutes until tender. Transfer to another bowl.

4. Scatter a few tomatoes over four plates. Top with one noodle, a spoonful of ricotta mixture, zucchini and more tomatoes. Repeat layering twice, ending with noodle and tomatoes. Drizzle a little more olive oil on top. Garnish with basil and serve.

Now for my modifications.  I use whole wheat lasagna, which take a bit longer to cook, but makes this recipe healthier.  I usually start the water boiling and then when I add the lasagna to the water, I start cooking the other ingredients.  I cook the zucchini first with salt and pepper for 2 minutes, then I add the tomatoes and garlic and cook for the remaining 3 minutes.  This way I don’t need to use an extra dish.  I just assemble my lasagna straight out of the skillet.  The last thing I do, which helps in the winter months, is I use canned diced tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes.  It tastes just as good and is fine for the winter when the cherry tomatoes don’t always look so good.  I also omit basil for this reason.

That’s it.  Super fast.  It’s ready in about 20 minutes from the time you start heating the water.  Enjoy!

xo Saree

Comments on: "No-Bake Lasagna" (2)

  1. Wow. This looks awesome. I have never made no bake lasagna. Sounds so simple. I will probably make mine with brown rice pasta

  2. This is really simple. I usually end up throwing it together when I don’t feel like cooking.
    I think it would be great with rice pasta. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

